





Resolution

RESOLUTION 2023/24-06 BOARD OF TRUSTEES WEST KERN COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT FACULTY APPRECIATION WEEK

May 6 – 10, 2024

WHEREAS, In 1980, Congress declared a National Teacher Day and in 1985 the Parent Teacher Association (PTA) established National Teacher Week as the first week of May. Faculty Appreciation Week shall be recognized as the week honoring instructors at the college level. It is a week-long celebration in the United States observed the first full week in May. We take this opportunity to celebrate the Taft College fulltime and adjunct faculty members, who distinguish themselves through the dedicated service and care for students, and our community; and

WHEREAS, the Taft College Faculty's commitment to student success is the cornerstone of the Taft College culture, and constitutes the core value of what we stand for as an institution of higher learning; and

WHEREAS, the Taft College Faculty are leaders in demonstrating flexibility in response to the changing conditions within our global economy; and

WHEREAS, the Taft College Faculty invest of themselves each and every day toward the goal of educational excellence and the success of students; and

WHEREAS, the Taft College Faculty are innovative, creative and open to new ideas which promote learning, energize our campus, and helps make Taft College the great institution that it is;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the West Kern Community College District hereby thanks the Faculty as a whole for their contributions to quality education in the Kern County and the West Kern Community College District and will celebrate the week of May 6, 2024 as Faculty Appreciation Week in the West Kern Community College District.

IN WITNESS of the adoption of the foregoing resolution at a duly called regular meeting of the West Kern Community College Board of Trustees held the fourteenth day of February, 2024; the following members of the said Board have affixed their signatures.

BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE WEST KERN COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT

Billy White, President

Cole.

Michael W. Eveland, Trustee

Dr. Kathy Orrin Secretary

eremv Gregory, Truste

Brock McMurray Superintendent/President



Ed.